Thursday, May 27, 2010

The Fire Tattva : 2010 Global Meditation

Each year from 2008 to 2012 we have chosen to work on one of the five tattvas (elements) and the associated qualities of each tattva within us. Traditionally the five elements correspond to the first five chakras and are described by the qualities of earth, water, fire, air, and ether (space). By the time we reach the 2012 solstices, we will have energetically reached the sixth chakra and be ready to rely on a new level of subtlety and self-discipline. In this way we will be fully conscious and prepared to embrace change as we work together for unity and express our uniqueness as we serve, heal, and lead in this new time.

Spiritual Warrior-Strength, Balance, and Peace in a Changing World

2010 is the year of the Fire Tattva, which corresponds to the Third Chakra (navel point and solar plexus): personal strength and power, commitment, and identity. This is a time to call on our courage with the grit, caliber, and fortitude of a Spiritual Warrior. This is also the year to get clear about your goals. It is a moment to consolidate your self-discipline so you feel clear and worthy to steward all that is given to you. The Third Chakra strength must infuse your words and projection so that your seeds take root and reach to the heights.

Fire is an important quality or element in the philosophy of yoga. From the formless manifold Being that is the Infinite, to the dense form of finite existence, there is a process of manifestation that moves from the most subtle to the gross and tangible. This transition occurs in 36 steps or tattvas. Each step or tattva is a state of Being. Fire is a major step in that process and as such is a pervasive potential, which manifests in differing degrees. Fire as an element encodes a transformative function inherent in the Universe, which is experienced in particular functions throughout the body. Fire gives light. Light enables vision. Vision gives insight, perspective, and projective potency. In terms of chakras, it is associated with the Third Chakra, the Manipura Chakra, which is often represented as an upward pointing triangle and the color red.

In the finite world of forms, fire is fed by fuel. Physiologically, it is the power of digestion and food is its fuel. Emotionally, it is passion and the fuel is the object of love or desire. Psychologically, it is known as personal will and the fuel is a goal. When fire is present it induces dynamic change, restlessness, and purification of the substance and form it presides in. Fire is increased with the practice and discipline of yoga. The Fifth Chakra supports this internal flame through the power of projection and by charging the space it can burn in with potential.

In the formless realm of experience, the fire tattva is prakasha, the brilliance of the soul, the insight and intuition of the mind, and the presence of awareness. It is the light, which gives rise to forms. This quality was described in an early lecture by Yogi Bhajan: “Saints and sages have taught mankind that whatever elements are found in the constitution of the Infinite Universe will also be found in the human body. The Universe is the entire Cosmos; and we are a microcosm of the entire Cosmos. If we were to take a thimbleful of sea water and examine it closely, we would find by chemical qualitative analysis that the constituents of the sea water in the thimble are identical to those of the vast ocean. Similarly, the constituents of our individual bodies are identical to those of the Universe. It would be a strange finding if some element were found inside the human body which differed from the elements of the Universe. For there is One Creator who has created this Creation, and all manifested things are born from the One Source of all.

Our personality is dependent on which of the five gross elements predominates in our nature. The agnigranthi, or fire center, manifests through the spleen, liver, pancreas, and adrenal glands. Just as the heat of the sun makes life possible on Earth, the heat of the agni tattva sustains life in the body. The day this internal fire goes out means death to the individual as surely as this world would die if the sun refused to shine. Persons with a supremacy of this agni tattva are very vigorous, full of perseverance, and become untiring workers. They have a wonderful capacity for leadership and a directness of manner and speech.”

By Gurucharan Singh Khalsa, KRI Director of Training
© The Teachings of Yogi Bhajan, January 1, 1973

No comments:

Post a Comment